new old more book profile blog rings host

prev bland ambition next
2004-08-10 | 9:15 a.m.

So I've been thinking about how to bring some money into my life. Toying with various ideas, as I always do, including the loopier ones. I've got practical and impractical, short-term and long-term ideas. I try to be aware of my limitations without reimagining myself as incompetent. This is harder for me than you might guess. I can talk myself out of anything.

My first thought, naturally, was writing for Stephen's company and/or the computer magazine. I resolved to update my resume. But the more I think about that, the more worried I get that I will screw up any assignment I get. The school year is about to start and I hear the anxiety yelping in my mind like a lapdog left in a parked car.

The long-term idea I'm leaning toward at present is fulfilling my quantitative reasoning requirement, which will complete my BA (this could take a year all by itself), getting a teaching credential, and doing my student teaching with the charter school. Then I can become a part-time teacher for the charter school and make money while still homeschooling the kids.

Sounds pretty ambitious, doesn't it? I just have to keep telling myself If she can do it, so can I.

prev archive next
3 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random