new old more book profile blog rings host

prev sooner or later the American people are going to wake up next
2004-08-09 | 9:29 a.m.

I woke up early this morning, before seven, but I didn't feel like I needed to go back to sleep. This is so uncharacteristic of me that I got back in bed anyway, assuming it was a fluke. But I really was awake.

I say "back in bed" though to be honest I was sleeping on the red couch in the back room (the "green room"). There were too many little bodies in my bed last night, too many feet in my face, so I abdicated. The green room is cooler, anyway. I leave the back door open and prop the couch cushions under my knees and it feels fine. Often I arrange something soft and dark over my eyelids to keep the morning at bay. But last night I forgot to do that.

So. Up early, I went outside and stared at my garden beds. The two tomato plants have entirely taken over the vegetable box. Enormous space alien ganglia dwarfing the celery and my frightened little bell peppers. I guess I'll have to cut them back. I don't really know what I'm doing out there.

I can't help hoping it means something, this getting out of bed early. I've been feeling down a lot lately. Maybe things are picking up? Then again, I've got some sort of cold or allergy thing, so maybe it's just that.

I feel totally AARP saying this, but I bought a bottle of glucosamine on clearance the other day. My body is always so sore in the mornings, especially at the base of my spine. I noticed a difference the morning after my first dose. I don't even know what glucosamine is. Usually I do research first. I suppose I ought to do yoga. But when you have trouble getting out of bed in the morning, it is difficult to imagine arriving somewhere else at 9 a.m. for yoga.

I have to leave soon; my three-month appointment with the neurologist is today. There will be four kids, me, and my Mom, and we'll listen to Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix as we drive. I'll bum a couple of bucks off my Mom for a big fountain Coke. I'm hoping she'll stay at the park with the boys this afternoon so I can work in the library basement with the girls. It's almost time for the book sale and my section isn't finished. It's never finished. I have stacks of books on the floor that I want for myself but I have no money to buy them. So half the time I'm there today will be spent re-shelving those, no doubt. My legacy.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random