new old more book profile blog rings host

prev where's the beep next
2001-08-07 | 3:51 p.m.

Why do I have such a big problem with answering machines? I can't seem to leave a coherent answering machine message unless I write the whole thing out in advance and read it.

Have you ever had the experience (hopefully not too many times) where you wake up and realize you're still DRIVING? Or you're in the bathtub? Well, that's what happens to me when I leave answering machine messages. I wake up in the middle of a message, daydreaming, and I have no idea where I've been for the past 20 seconds. What did I just say? What do I want to say? Why am I here? Think, dammit!

I'm wondering if it isn't some kind of self-sabotage. If I can't leave an intelligible message, I can't be taken seriously. If I can't be taken seriously, then everybody will leave me the hell alone.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random