new old more book profile blog rings host

prev Being John Malkovich next
2001-07-31 | 1:32 p.m.

Stayed up late last night watching Being John Malkovich. I found the movie less and less interesting as it wore on, but WOW the first third of it was out of this world. I was laughing so hard when John Cusack went for his job interview that I actually remember thinking, "I'm laughing so hard right now I could have a stroke and die."

And that Maxine---how I wish I could write a character like that! Even Mary Kay Place's throwaway character was pure gold. And seeing John Malkovich, who is so mannered in his speech, mimic John Cusack, well, that was a treat. And the way they had Cusack, or should I say Craig Schwartz and his wife (who was unrecognizable to Duff as Cameron Diaz), looking so hippie-hairy bestial, that was great. Uneven movie, but with long satisfying stretches of greatness.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random