new old more book profile blog rings host

prev happy Friday the 13th next
2001-07-13 | 10:32 a.m.

Last night after a fantastic dinner at C----, Duff started to regale me with his latest theory (about the reason why people now are so into bondage) and I suggested that he start a diary and write down some of his observations there, especially about politics. He told me wouldn't keep a diary, as that was not his style (I think it sounds too femme-y to him, though he would never admit that). I reminded him that people put all sorts of things in their Diaryland space.

Well lo and behold, this morning he actually did it! Now he is impolitic. Actually, he was impolitic before, but now you can all judge for yourselves.

I will have to encourage him to modify his template, as that collegiate one is a bit rah-rah. Next thing I know he'll be coming home in an ankle-length ermine coat, waving a pendant and singing "Boola-Boola."

I did something uncharacteristic this morning myself. My sister works as a housecleaner, as you know, and I often drive her to work because I want to be supportive of her getting her life back together. Today they are shorthanded as the boss is on an Alaskan cruise and a few other people are out and the co-worker who was supposed to partner up with my sister today called in this morning and said she had decided to go to Arizona with relatives. So the upshot is that Diane has to clean two big houses on her own.

I felt the stirrings of sisterly obligation, but ignored them as long as I could. Eventually I did offer to help, though it was hard to physically squeeze the words out of my mouth. "Um, I uh, I guess I uh, could uh�" I mean, hell's bells, it's not as if I don't know how to clean. I just don't like it. The way Diane talks about some of her less competent co-workers, I couldn't be any worse than the worst of them. Diane seemed surprised, but she said, "If you could just do the dusting and vacuuming, that would be a big help, because that takes a long time." Then she seemed to talk herself out of it, though we left it open. It may be easier for her to do the work on her own just knowing that if she does need me, she can call. She's very independent, though, and prefers to do things on her own.

That would be a kind of poetic justice, wouldn't it? After fussing over not cleaning my own house for two days, I could end up cleaning the house of somebody I don't even know.

Right now I am enjoying a left-will-eat-itself debate on this anarchist mailing list I joined (I'm not sure why; I guess to figure out if the polemicists were still as boring as ever) between unaffiliated Italian anarchists and representatives of the White Overalls (YaBasta).

Duff leaves tonight for Michigan, where he will pick up our girls and bring them home on Monday. So it will be just Jasper and me this weekend. I suppose I shouldn't say that in case any international jewel thieves are reading this. In that case, let me make something clear once and for all: Everything I have is paste.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random