new old more book profile blog rings host

prev The Anxiety of Influence, Part 2 next
2000-06-27 | 03:14:00

Okay, I guess I'm not quite done. You know what it was? I'll start from the most recent thing and back up.

* Uncharacteristically bought a copy of Vanity Fair and started reading it just now. Made me absolutely frantic. Every article is about somebody who got famous and successful. Even the murderer is more glamorous than me. There is an article about the people who work in the mailrooms of the famous agencies. On the cover, it says, "Fanfair! 31 Sun-Filled Days in the Life of the Culture." What the hell does that mean? The Culture? I don't even know what they're talking about. Not that I take Vanity Fair's word for everything, but if you are already in a heightened state of anxiety, brought on by various and sundry other things...

* Duff got into an argument about homeschooling on the way home with the woman he carpools with. He tells me all about it but of course I can't defend myself against her. She's all over that old "socialization" chestnut and it dawns on me that the people who say that stuff don't really give a fig about whether the kids can make friends. What they're really saying is that a child who is Properly Socialized will have the ability to never make ordinary people feel uncomfortable about anything, ever. But smart kids have a harder time with that in any event, and I'm not at all sure that it is a value I support. What's so damn horrible about being a little weird? This woman is logic-impaired anyway. Her shtick is that she got beat up every day in school, and now she's a better person because of it. Whatever.

* Stuff at work that I'm not in control of that bugs me.

* After registering 4 domain names and getting some friends all charged up about my new online magazine, I have lost interest. (I know that my interest might return, but this keeps happening to me and it is extremely annoying.) Basically, I vacillate between wanting to do something in a group and wanting to do something on my own. (And never get much of anything done.)

That's pretty much it for today. It would just be very convenient if everything would start making sense.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random