new old more book profile blog rings host

prev mulling next
2001-06-11 | 5:04 p.m.

Still mulling over my last entry. Comparing McVeigh's death to a birthday party probably undermines my argument. Probably makes it easier for people to accept the death penalty. People didn't like it before, when their heads caught on fire. But then someone came up with lethal injections and that nicefied it. Many people aren't too picky about the method of death; would have them die any which way---hanging, fried, whatever---but for others I think it must be easier to conscience, this idea of a painless death. After all, it's the same way you'd put down a beloved terrier. But no matter how quietly it all goes down, how few twitches are discerned and counted before the lips turn blue, it is still an act of violence to kill a human being. When the government performs an execution, no matter how deserved, civilization suffers.

Okay, whatever.

Duff took the LSAT today. I expected him to check in a couple of hours ago but have heard not one thing. Wondering if he went out for a celebratory beer afterward with a friend from his prep class. Or maybe the test itself ran longer than he anticipated. Still, annoying. He's terrible about checking in. Feels no remorse about making me worry. Do I dare call? Surely he is out of the testing facility by now? Might be funny if he is. Yes, I'll call.

Naw. His phone is still turned off.

I'm annoyed with myself today. Started out full of energy and then fizzled. I have an assignment due Thursday (deadline was moved up) but didn't call any of the contacts for the story. I hate talking to strangers on the phone. Makes me so nervous. Also feel jittery, like I've had too much caffeine, but I haven't. Grr.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random