new old more book profile blog rings host

prev ass over teakettle next
2004-06-07 | 3:05 p.m.

Tomorrow is the last day of school. We will continue homeschooling through the summer, but at least my meetings with Valerie will end for two whole months after Thursday, when we will have our last conference of the year. I don�t hate Valerie but I sure as hell hate the meetings. If I didn�t have to meet with her every month, we would be on a hi/bye basis only.

So for this Thursday�s meeting I�m supposed to have two months� worth of paperwork prepared, plus report cards. I promised myself I�d get a head start on it, but here it is Monday and all I have so far is one sample. But it�s a sample that will work for all three kids, so that�s not bad. It's a picture of the "ancient" Roman and Viking coins we made from clay and plaster, taken while they were on display at the school fair in a velvet-lined treasure chest that Jinx happened to have.

At the same time, I need to get my sections together for the book sale, which coincidentally begins on Thursday. I was there for about four hours yesterday, mostly culling stale titles for the 25-cent table. But I hit the jackpot when I checked out the new gardening books. There were four or five really good books on California native plants, and I�ve been watching for them to come in for more than a year now. I was thrilled. One was an introduction to the Jepson Manual, which I'd never even heard of before. (And I usually know pretty well what's out there when I'm obsessed with a subject.) Sweet!

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random