new old more book profile blog rings host

prev one man's wacky next
2001-06-05 | 9:51 a.m.

Today is wacky hair day at the girls' school. Since we are always running late, I had about three minutes to come up with something WaCkY. Wacky hair usually involves multiple ponytails and/or braids and temporary dye, I think, but instead we went with objects incorporated into ponytails. Felony got a large Hello Kitty key fob that bounces gently against her forehead when she walks, while Criminy, bless her heart, got a big pink toothbrush and a small furry-chested yellow and orange ape. If anyone else comes to school with a toothbrush in her hair, I'll eat my hat.

Now my hand smells like hair spray.

On the way over, my sister was telling me about some 20-year-old who overshot a curve on Lake Herman Road yesterday and ran his motorcycle into a tree. She confirmed that he is no longer with us, and seemed surprised that I had even asked, given the inflexibility of trees. At least two of her friends have died in a tree collision and she has seen more horrible accidents than I can count. She said, "What I don't understand is how these people even find a tree out there. There are no trees along Lake Herman Road!" I said there must be, since he found one.

"Yeah," she said, imitating the motorcyclist, "I found it, Le Tree!"

This cracked me up. Diane doesn't actually speak French so it was uncharacteristic of her to try.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random