new old more book profile blog rings host

prev my grandmother, dead or alive next
2001-05-15 | 2:23 p.m.

Had a dream last night that my grandmother (paternal) was dying, only she was aging backwards. So she was an adorable little fat-cheeked baby about to close her eyes forever, and I stood over her, cooing.

Incidentally my paternal grandmother died in 1986. It's the other grandmother I'm not sure about. I'm sure that's why I had the dream. Maybe the dream was implying that people who are dying are less objectionable. But I suspect my maternal grandmother is already dead. Either that, or she's in a nursing home (which I do not mean to imply is darn close to being dead). When I was down in Florida, I drove by her house, but it didn't look like she was living there anymore. I'm 98 percent certain she wasn't there. Why didn't I just go up to the door? Why don't I know more about what's going on with my grandmother? Because five years ago my mother and sister went to stay with her and she kicked them out. Far from being a peacemaker, my evil uncle told my grandmother, "Well, Ma, if they're bothering you, call the police." My friend Shirl had to pick them up at a hotel (they didn't even have enough money to pay the bill) and send them home.

It was a very cathartic experience for my mother, who finally realized that her mother was never going to like her no matter what she did. So she shut the door and has never looked back.

Once Shirl called me and said that my grandmother had called her to say that my evil uncle had had a stroke, and would she convey the message to me? Shirl did, and I told my Mom, but she was unmoved and never attempted to contact them.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random