new old more book profile blog rings host

prev ins and outs next
2002-04-24 | 6:23 p.m.

I just got a hit for "I am a bad American." Apparently this is a cantankerous Web essay being attributed to George Carlin, who emphatically denies having written it. I'm glad he didn't write it because I was really going to be sort of disappointed in him if he had.

***

I was thinking today about theshivers' speculation that Pink is the new Madonna. It reminded me that just yesterday I was idly wondering, "Is Moby the new Prince?"

I like Pink's song, too. It's weird to admit, but I sort of feel like I know Madonna. You know, like she's a friend of a friend or something. But I do not know Madonna. There are a few show-bizzy people who I know-but not know in this way, and she is not one of them. I used to have dreams that I knew Princess Diana; that we were buds, and I was the only one who really understood her problems. Makes me feel like a nut case.

***

The other day at the girls' softball game, I urged Felony to tag the base or the player when playing one of the bases, even though in her age group, there are no outs. The league tries to minimize that sort of hard-core competition so the girls can really focus on building their skills. "Even though you're not playing outs now," I told her, "you will play outs eventually."

"What are we playing now?" she asked. "Ins?"

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random