new old more book profile blog rings host

prev might as well ask next
2002-03-28 | 5:52 p.m.

Are there any true Internet geeks out there? I'm in a bind and need advice. I have to get rid of my extra ISP account because I have DSL and I can't afford to keep paying for both.

Still with me? Okay. The main reason I've been hanging on to the dial-up account is because I have a couple of low-volume mailing lists set up there. I want to keep the mailing lists. But I don't want to set them up through Yahoo Groups. I hate wading through all the ads they tack on to everything, and I'm concerned about privacy.

I downloaded LISTSERV thinking I might be able to get that up and running on a friend's machine, but so far I can't even understand the instructions. Argh! Does anybody know of a cool place that hosts low-cost or free mailing lists that aren't choking with ads?

Barring that, does anybody want to walk me through a LISTSERV setup?

Since I'm asking for ridiculous amounts of help anyway, I should mention that I'm putting together an author fan site and if anybody with a flair for HTML would like to volunteer to do the site design, that would be beyond fabulous. Without a real designer, I expect it to look pretty plain, really. I don't really expect to get any offers, because I know it's a lot to ask, but you never know.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random