new old more book profile blog rings host

prev I am finished with the Catholics, and they are finished with me next
2002-03-20 | 7:05 a.m.

Okay, after much travail, I have finished with the Catholics. Now I get to wait to see if anybody complains. Remind me what I thought was going to be fun about this gig.

Maybe somebody will say, What do you know? You're not a Catholic. And it will be true. But my mother is a lapsed Catholic. A very, very lapsed Catholic. But she still thinks like a Catholic. She always says she liked it better when they said the Mass in Latin. I figure it means she liked it better before she could understand what they were saying.

So no, I'm not a Catholic. But I'm sort of like an ethnic Catholic. Or not. My father's family was Southern Baptist. But my parents never went to church and never talked about religion much at all, except to say that they expected me to believe in God.

Apparently, that was not enough to do the trick.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random