new old more book profile blog rings host

prev chock full next
2002-03-18 | 10:18 a.m.

Barbara called me this morning in a tizzy. Seems Greater Loserville School District is refusing even to give her a district transfer form to fill out unless she can prove that she works or has childcare in Lesser Loserville.

This is troublesome news, but I urged her not to panic. She's already wondering if she should move somewhere else.

None of this would matter, of course, if Greater Loserville's schools weren't so abysmal. Setting aside their lousy test scores, the schools are unsafe. I know, because they were unsafe 20-30 years ago, when I was going to school here, and there are just as many lamebrained thugs now as there were then. In some ways, the junior highs are even worse than the high schools. Maybe it's because the worst offenders haven't dropped out yet.

So there is no way they're going to force me to send my kids to school here. It's so typical of the local regime to try to bully people instead of focusing on making improvements. All the school board and the administration seem to do is bicker and point fingers at each other.

This town is full of idiots, I tell you.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random