new old more book profile blog rings host

prev three sets next
2002-03-04 | 11:25 p.m.

We went to see Red Meat on Saturday night at the Ivy Room in Albany. Sat through three sets and they didn't even play my favorite song of theirs. It didn't occur to me to request it because it is my favorite song, which is to say, it is their BEST song, so why on earth wouldn't they play it?

I remember David Spade on Saturday Night Live's Weekend Edition talking about going to see Big Country and they didn't play "Big Country," the only radio hit they ever had. He had a whole rant about that was pretty funny.

I think I am getting too old to see shows. I think about my kids, and I think about how and when I will get to the bathroom to relieve myself, and I wish I could watch the show from my bed, only suspended from the ceiling, so I could see over the heads of the tall guys in front of me.

Okay, I didn't actually think of that during the show.

When I was a kid, I remember wondering if I would end up being one of those adults who watched Johnny Carson on a TV at the foot of the bed. It never, ever occurred to me that Johnny Carson would not be on television when I was grown up.

Okay, I should really go to bed now. P.S.: You would not believe how many hits I have gotten for the W**den S*ldier catalog!

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random