new old more book profile blog rings host

prev do be a doo bee next
2002-02-21 | 12:56 p.m.

Do you ever feel the compulsion to write helpful notes to the people who come to your diary through Google? I want to tell the person who�s trying to find the Wooden Soldier children�s clothing catalog that while the company doesn�t seem to have a web site, you can order the catalog by calling 800/375-6002.

On a search like that, it helps to put wooden soldier in quotation marks, so the search returns only instances where the words appear side by side. So this is what you should type into Google:

�wooden soldier� catalog

Okay? Okay.

In other news, after MUCH hemming and hawing I�ve finally talked myself into doing the column for the community web site. Here�s what did it. I was in the car today nursing one of my favorite fantasies, the one where I run my own small community newspaper. Ahhh, what a pleasant sensation. Digging up useful information and sharing it with my town. I am honest and reliable. Sure, I don�t make a lot of money, but it�s satisfying work. Etc.

Then it was like the sound effect where the needle is dragged along the record edge: zerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrt!

Because I realized if you took out all the hard parts, like coming up with the money to print it and filling up all the pages, it would look a LOT like this column offer I got from Oz at the community web site. So that was basically my mind handing me the reason at last and then it was easy enough to call Oz just now and say yes. We decided to brainstorm ideas and talk again tomorrow or the next day. (Remember: YOU call HIM.) He is a little stiff on the phone; hard to read. Don�t take it personally.

I feel a little skittish about it, but if I can just throw myself into it, it should be fine. But I really DO need to throw myself into it. Otherwise ... doubt, failure, grief, remorse, self-recrimination, depression, withdrawal, apathy, health failure, death.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random