new old more book profile blog rings host

prev miles to go before I sleep next
2002-01-23 | 10:24 p.m.

Trying to hurry up and read a month's worth of newspapers before putting them out for recycling, I started mulling over the obits, as is my wont. I found a piece of scrap paper and scribbled out my own. Handed it to Duff as he watched O, Brother, Where Art Thou?. "Here's my obituary, in case I die," I said. "WHAT?!" he said.

I wish I had a good comeback for that, that exaggerated "WHAT?!" What should come after that? "You heard me!"? It's not as if he didn't really hear me.

Went to school today and worked on poetry with the 4th graders and then hung out in my daughters' class. Eventually got some one-on-one time with Xochitl. If you're hoping I managed to teach her the alphabet, I regret to say I did not. I don't even know for sure if I taught her to recognize the letter 'A'. She still has trouble spelling her name. Hard to blame her for that----I forget how to spell her name, too. But I know her last name better than she does. Jasper's only 3 and he can tell you his last name AND spell his first name.

It did seem like we were making some headway, though I'll have a better sense tomorrow. She actually gets a fair amount of individualized or small-group tutoring from other people at school, but I don't know what they're working on. I'll tell you this much: I could never make it as a teacher. I taught introductory lit surveys (college) for a couple of semesters and that was enough for me.

prev archive next
0 comments

if you're not reading mawm you're not reading me
random